Disney’s Beauty and the Beast Audition Information & Registration

Beast.jpg

Auditions for Disney’s Beauty and the Beast are open to students entering Grade 2 through Adults.

The classic story tells of Belle, a young woman in a provincial town, and the Beast, who is really a young prince trapped under the spell of an enchantress. If the Beast can learn to love and be loved, the curse will end and he will be transformed into his former self. But time is running out. If the Beast does not learn his lesson soon, he and his household will be doomed for all eternity.

There is a participation fee of $200 for all students cast in the production (high school age and younger). Scholarships are available.


The online audition registration form will be live beginning at 10a on Monday, July 8 and will close at 12p on Thursday, August 8. Please read all of the information below before filling out the registration form.


AUDITIONS OPEN TO:

Students entering Grade 2 through Adults

AUDITION DATES:

Sunday, August 11 from 4-8p
Monday, August 12 from 6-10p
Auditions will be one hour in length, beginning every hour

VIDEO AUDITION:

If you are unable to attend physical auditions, you may submit a video. Fill out the registration form as normal and upon completion, you will receive a link to select an audition slot. Please choose the “Video Submission” slot. More details will be emailed out at the end of July/early August about what to include in the video audition. Please only send in a video if you are unable to attend either audition date.

CALLBACKS:

Tuesday, August 13 and Wednesday, August 14 beginning at 6p both evenings
Not everyone will be needed for callbacks. If you are called back, you will receive an email after auditions have ended on August 12 with more details.

AUDITION PREPARATION:

  • Prepare 32 bars of a musical theatre style song. Bring sheet music in the correct key, an accompanist will be provided

  • Dress for movement (comfortable clothes, jazz shoes or flexible soled tennis shoes) - will be taught a dance

  • Bring your headshot and resume, if you don’t upload them in the online registration

REHEARSAL DETAILS:

Rehearsals will be held Monday-Friday from 6:30-9:30p. Some may be asked to come as early as 6p or stay as late as 10p (on an individual, one-by-one basis). Rehearsals begin on Tuesday, September 3.

CONFLICTS:

Conflicts will be taken into consideration when casting the show. A large number of conflicts or conflicts during the last two weeks of rehearsals or during performances (October 28-December 1) may impact casting decisions.

IMPORTANT REHEARSAL DATES:

Meet and Greet: Tuesday, September 3 at 6:30p. Every student participant (high school age and under) must have at least one parent/guardian attend the Meet and Greet with them
First Rehearsal: Tuesday, September 3 after the Meet and Greet
Halloween: October 31 falls in the middle of tech for the show, rehearsal is TBD
Thanksgiving: There will not be any rehearsals or performances from November 25-28. There will be a performance in the evening on Friday, November 29 (Black Friday)

REHEARSAL LOCATIONS:

Rehearsals will be held inside the theater at Ashland or in another room inside the Maplewood YMCA (2100 White Bear Ave, Maplewood). More details about rehearsal spaces will be communicated in the rehearsal schedules.

TECH DATES:

Monday-Friday, October 28 - November 1, 2019 (Rehearsal on October 31 TBD)
Monday-Wednesday, November 4-6, 2019

PERFORMANCES:

There will be 4 weekends of performances. Dates listed below:
Thursday, November 7, 2019 (Director's Performance/Final Tech Rehearsal)
Friday, November 8, 2019 (7pm)
Saturday, November 9, 2019 (1pm & 6pm)
Sunday, November 10, 2019 (1pm) - potential for 6pm performance, TBA

Friday, November 15, 2019 (7pm)
Saturday, November 16, 2019 (1pm & 6pm)
Sunday, November 17, 2019 (1pm) - potential for 6pm performance, TBA

Friday, November 22, 2019 (7pm)
Saturday, November 23, 2019 (1pm & 6pm)
Sunday, November 24, 2019 (1pm) - potential for 6pm performance, TBA

Friday, November 29, 2019 (7pm)
Saturday, November 30, 2019 (1pm & 6pm)
Sunday, December 1, 2019 (1pm) - potential for 6pm performance, TBA


If you have questions about auditions, please contact Melissa, Marketing and Development Associate, at melissa@ashlandproductions.org